The River

A Poem By Jaida, 9yrs  old

                                                                                                                                                                                                      The river is still and calm. I put my hand in it, it feels cool and calm.                                                                            I come back the next day.

The river is rushing and full of fish. I try to catch one, but they are too fast.                                                                      I come back the next day.

The river has more water. I through a few small stones in, they make a splash.                                                                     I come back the next day.

The river leads me farther. I see a waterfall, the sun makes a rainbow on it.                                                             I come back the next day.

The river is still today. I feel something on my head, it is rain, I find shelter.                                                                 I come back the next day.

The river is full of blossoms. I grab one, then I pick the petals into the river.                                                                       I come back the next day.

The river is full of leaves. I grab one, and look at the pretty Autumn colors.                                                                    I come back the next day.

The river is frozen. I touch it, it is cold, I can see the fish under the ice.                                                                         I come back the next day.

The river is very murky. I look in, there are no fish or animals near the river.                                                                     I come back the next day.

The river shimmers today. I look at the cloudless sky, I see fish in the river.                                                              I come back the next day.

The river is beautiful at night. I see the shallow river, I see the moon in it.                                                               I come back the next day.

The river is dried up. I miss seeing the fish every day, then it starts to rain.                                                              I come back the next day.

The river is a very wealthy place. I love the river, how it is always full of fish and how every day there is something that changes my feelings like, the calm river, the fish, the waterfall, the rain, the blossoms, the leaves, the ice, the murky river, the shimmering river, the shallow river, and the dried up river. The river is a beautiful place.

I love the always-full-of-fish, beautiful, river.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karen says:

    Jaida, The theme and style of your poem perfectly match. By saying “the next day” over and over you really emphasize how the river keeps changing. Each time you say it I wonder what you’ll find next. Good job!

    Like

    1. broken word says:

      I (Victoria) will pass this on to her! I never thought of why “the next day” works so well with the theme. It totally makes sense. This is my favorite poem of hers so far.

      Like

Leave a Reply

